Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

The genus Catopsalis Cope includes eight species (C. matthewi, C. catopsaloides, C. joyneri, C. alexanderi, C. foliatus, C. utahensis, C. fissidens, C. calgariensis) spanning Late Cretaceous through late Paleocene/early Eocene time on two continents, Asia (first two taxa) and North America (last six taxa). A cladistic analysis of dental and palatal features within the Taeniolabididae (which includes Catopsalis, Kamptobaatar, Lambdopsalis, Prionessus, Sphenopsalis, and Taeniolabis) indicates that Catopsalis is a paraphyletic taxon, composed of no fewer than five independent monophyletic groups. Taeniolabis is a monophyletic taxon, and Lambdopsalis, Prionessus, and Sphenopsalis (individually monophyletic by monotypy) together form another...

You do not have access to this content, please speak to your institutional administrator if you feel you should have access.

Figures & Tables





Citing Books via

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal