The Seismological Society of America will present its most prestigious awards to the following honorees at the Society’s 2018 Annual Meeting, to be held 24–26 April 2018 jointly with the Latin American and Caribbean Seismological Commission in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

The 2017 SSA Medal, also known as the Harry Fielding Reid Medal of the Seismological Society of America, will be awarded to George Plafker of the U.S. Geological Survey for his transformative work on megathrust earthquakes in subduction zones. Plafker and his colleagues did painstaking fieldwork after the 1964 magnitude 9.2 Alaska earthquake, covering hundreds of kilometers of Alaskan...

First Page Preview

First page PDF preview
You do not currently have access to this article.