The annual election of the Seismological Society of America was held on 6 January 2017. Election America, Inc., tabulated and validated the votes of current members that were received by the deadline 5 p.m. (Pacific) on that date.

The following nominees for Director were elected to a three‐year term beginning in April 2017:

The 2016 Kaikoura earthquake beneath the northern part of New Zealand’s South Island, in the transition from continental strike‐slip faulting in the south to subduction in the north, was one of the largest earthquakes to strike New Zealand in historic times.

The earthquake caused extensive surface deformation...

You do not currently have access to this article.