The African Seismological Commission (AfSC) was launched on 22 January 2014 during an Africa‐Array workshop held at The University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg, South Africa.

The meeting included representatives from 21 African countries: Algeria, Ethiopia, Madagascar, Ghana, Malawi, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Angola, Egypt, Senegal, Morocco, Libya, Nigeria, Cameroon, DR Congo, Tanzania, Mozambique, South Africa, Cape Verde Republic, Botswana and Rwanda.

An AfSC executive committee was elected as follows: Atalay Ayele (Ethiopia), President; Bekoa Ateba (Cameroon), 1st Vice President; Ahmed Hosny Ali (Egypt), 2nd Vice President; Michelle Grobbelaar (South Africa), Secretary Paulina; and Amponsah (Ghana), Member.

It was decided to hold...

You do not have access to this content, please speak to your institutional administrator if you feel you should have access.