The Syrian National Seismological Network has been operational since January 1995. The network consists of 27 analog short‐period (1 Hz) stations (SS‐1 single‐ or three‐component stations). The spatial distribution of the network covers most of western and northeastern Syria and is designed to monitor all discernible earthquake activity along the Dead Sea fault system (DSFS) and its branches in Syria and nearby Lebanon. The stations were deployed at ∼50  km spacing in the western parts of Syria and at ∼100  km spacing in the northeastern region. As part of the national seismological network expansion project, up to 24 three‐component 1...

First Page Preview

First page PDF preview
You do not currently have access to this article.