To monitor compliance with the Comprehensive Nuclear‐Test‐Ban Treaty (CTBT), the Preparatory Commission of the Comprehensive Nuclear‐Test‐Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) is setting up a network of 321 stations in the four verification technologies of seismology, hydroacoustics, infrasound, and radionuclides. Within this International Monitoring System (IMS) network are 170 seismic stations. The IMS seismic network is teleseismic in nature and designed to achieve approximately uniform coverage of the Earth for moderate sized events. A significant number of the IMS seismic stations consist of arrays of seismometers, adding to the network sensitivity and accuracy of the phase readings. At the end of the...

First Page Preview

First page PDF preview
You do not currently have access to this article.