Seismic monitoring in South Africa prior to 1970 was through sporadic deployment of seismographs by various institutions. The first was a Wiechert seismograph installed at Union Observatory in Johannesburg in 1910 to monitor mining-related earthquakes (Gane 1939). Table 1, after Wright and Fernández (2003), shows in brief the monitoring status in South Africa for the period 1910 to 1981. Following the devastating magnitude 6.3 earthquake in Western Cape Province during September 1969, the Geological Survey (now the Council for Geoscience) deployed seven seismographs in South Africa and heralded the start of organized seismic monitoring in the country...

First Page Preview

First page PDF preview
You do not currently have access to this article.