The following SSA members were participants in the 7th United States-Japan Urban Earthquake Mitigation Workshop, 23–26 March 2003 in Maui, Hawaii, and received travel support from the National Science Foundation: Fouad Bendimerad, Yousef Bozorgnia, Lori Dengler, Lind Gee, Ayhan Irfanoglu, Charles Kircher, Charles Scawthorn, and L. Thomas Tobin.

Dr. James H. Dieterich, a geophysicist at the U.S. Geological Survey whose work has focused on earthquake and volcano hazards, was elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences at the Academy's annual meeting on 29 April 2003. Dieterich is an internationally renowned authority in rock mechanics, seismology,...

First Page Preview

First page PDF preview
You do not currently have access to this article.