Masato Abe, Associate Professor at the University of Tokyo, was awarded the IABSE Prize in recognition of his outstanding contribution in the field of structural engineering. It was awarded “[i]n recognition of his major contributions to the advancement of structural dynamics and its application to the resolution of practical engineering problems.”

SSA member Dr. Pramod N. Agrawal, Professor in the Department of Earthquake Engineering at the University of Roorkee, India, retired from the university on 30 June after 35 years of distinguished service.

Joe Allbaugh, President George W. Bush's choice to head FEMA, was unanimously confirmed by...

You do not currently have access to this article.