This report includes a summary of microearthquakes located by the Kansas Geological Survey seismograph network during 1979. The network now consists of thirteen stations, nine of which are telemetered to Lawrence, Kansas. Locations and magnitudes are provided for 19 earthquakes in Kansas and Missouri. Statistical parameters obtained from the location computer program HYP071 are also listed. Magnitudes are calculated using an empirical relation derived by Jim Lawson of the Oklahoma Geophysical Observatory. Three distinct earthquake trends have been observed associated with the Humboldt fault zone, the Midcontinent Geophysical Anomaly, and the Central Kansas Uplift.

This content is PDF only. Please click on the PDF icon to access.

First Page Preview

First page PDF preview
You do not currently have access to this article.