A documented catalog of 457 Nicaraguan seismic and volcanic events reported for the 453-year period 1520-1973 is presented. Earthquakes range in size from those that caused the destruction of the former capital at Leon in 1609, 1663 and again in 1885 to instrumentally recorded events of small magnitude. The present capital, Managua, was devastated in 1931 and in 1972. Magnitude ranges have been assigned for all events. Although a large number of shocks are listed with magnitudes of 6.0 and greater, none larger than 7.7 is known. The 64-item bibliography is a comprehensive list of source material on Nicaraguan seismicity.

First Page Preview

First page PDF preview
You do not currently have access to this article.