We map the fault planes of M≥7.0 earthquakes along the Sumatran fault in Sumatra, western Indonesia, for the period since 1892. To obtain precise hypocenter locations of large earthquakes and identify fault planes of M≥7.0 earthquakes, we relocated 27 M≥6.0 earthquakes from 1921 to 2012 using the modified joint hypocenter determination method. We found that six M≥7.0 events appear to have occurred on segments of the Sumatran fault as follows: Kumering for the 1933 (Ms 7.5) event; the northwestern and southeastern parts of Tripa for the 1935 (Ms 7.0) and 1936 (Ms 7.2) events, respectively; the southeastern half of Sunda for the April 1943 (Ms 7.1) event; Ketaun for the first (Ms 7.3) event of the June 1943 doublet; and Suliti and Sumani for the second (Ms 7.6) event of the June 1943 doublet. We also identified the faults of four M≥7.0 earthquakes between 1892 and 1920 by using information on crustal deformation and damage distributions. From the results of earthquake locations between 1892 and 2012, and the corresponding fault lengths of M≥7.0 earthquakes, we have interpreted the large (M≥7.0) earthquake history of the Sumatran fault for the past 120 years. Possible seismic gaps for M≥7.0 earthquakes along the Sumatran fault are the northern half of the Sunda segment, and the Semangko, Dikit, Sianok, Barumun, Toru, Renun, Aceh, and Seulimeum segments.

You do not currently have access to this article.