A Permo-Carboniferous series and a polymetamorphic series are distinguished in the rocks of the southern Cottian Alps, Italy. The metamorphic mineral assemblages and facies of the principal rock types represented in each series and their zonal distribution are discussed. Alpine metamorphism is considered to have occurred after the tectonic activity responsible for superposition of the three structural units recognized in the region between Varaita and Stura.

This content is PDF only. Please click on the PDF icon to access.

First Page Preview

First page PDF preview
You do not currently have access to this article.