Sediment samples from the northern border of the Gulf of Mexico show regional differences in mineral composition which permit the distinction of four areas of sediments, each with a characteristic mineral suite. These "sedimentary petrologic provinces" are here termed the Eastern Gulf Province, the Mississippi River Province, the Western Gulf Province, and the Rio Grande Province. The mineral assemblage characteristic of each province is briefly described.

First Page Preview

First page PDF preview
You do not currently have access to this article.