On the afternoon of May 16, 1905, six geologists gathered at the headquarters of the U.S. Geological Survey in Washington, D.C. They were H.F. Bain, A.H. Brooks, J.D. Irving, W. Lindgren, F.L. Ransome, and J.E. Spurr. The purpose of the meeting was to "effect an organization for the publication of a periodical devoted to economic geology." Spurr was elected Acting Chairman of the group, Irving the Editor. There were to be eight issues of the journal per annum—at an annual subscription rate of $3.00.

Fourteen years later, in December 1919, at the time of the annual meeting of the Geological...

First Page Preview

First page PDF preview
You do not currently have access to this article.