Seven selected major copper deposits of China are described: Baiyin of Gansu province, Dexing of Jiangxi province, Yulong of Xizang (Tibet) autonomous region, Zhongtiaoshan of Shanxi province, Daye of Hubei province, Tongling of Anhui province, and Dongchuan of Yunnan province. These copper deposits can be classified into four types according to their geologic settings: (1) volcanogenic deposits--Baiyin, (2) porphyry copper deposits--Dexing, Yulong and Zongtiaoshan, (3) skarn deposits--Daye and Tongling, and (4) strata-bound deposits--Dongchuan. The Dexing mines have by far the largest proven reserves--1.5 billion tons of copper ores.

First Page Preview

First page PDF preview
You do not currently have access to this article.