Mr. President, Members of the Society, Ladies, and Gentlemen:

Thank you, Larissa, for your very kind words and for nominating me for this great honor. Many thanks also to those who supported my nomination and to the Roebling Committee that selected me. I am extremely honored to be chosen as the 2012 Roebling Medalist, as I am sure you can already conclude by my dress today. I am humbled when I look back over the list of earlier recipients of this award—William Lawrence Bragg, N.L. Bowen, Linus Pauling, and many outstanding mineralogists and mineral physicists, including the last dozen or...

First Page Preview

First page PDF preview
You do not currently have access to this article.