The International Mineralogical Association's approved amphibole nomenclature has been revised to simplify it, make it more consistent with divisions generally at 50%, define prefixes and modifiers more precisely, and include new amphibole species discovered and named since 1978, when the previous scheme was approved. The same reference axes form the basis of the new scheme and most names are little changed, but compound species names like tremolitic hornblende (now magnesiohornblende) are abolished, as are crossite (now glaucophane or ferroglaucophane or magnesioriebeckite or riebeckite), tirodite (now manganocummingtonite), and dannemorite (now manganogrunerite). The 50% rule has been broken only to retain tremolite and actinolite as in the 1978 scheme; the sodic-calcic amphibole range has therefore been expanded. Alkali amphiboles are now sodic amphiboles. The use of hyphens is defined. New amphibole names approved since 1978 include nyboite, leakeite, kornite, ungarettiite, sadanagaite, and cannilloite. All abandoned names are listed. The formulae and source of the amphibole end-member names are listed and procedures outlined to calculate Fe (super 3+) and Fe (super 2+) where not determined by analysis.

You do not currently have access to this article.