President Holdaway, members and fellows of the Mineralogical Society of America, and guests: In 1967 Jonathan Farwell Stebbins was a 13-year-old lad living with his family in Seattle. That was the year I attended my first MSA luncheon, at the New Orleans GSA meeting. I was a second-year graduate student in mineralogy. At that meeting the 17th MSA Award was presented to Ted Ringwood for his pioneering experimental studies of pressure-induced phase transformations. One could argue that Ted’s well-deserved recognition by MSA ushered in the era of modern mineral physics. The high point of that meeting for me was the speech by Linus Pauling accepting the Roebling Medal. I succeeded in introducing myself to Dr. Pauling and shook his hand. I recall how excited I felt about the specialty I had chosen to pursue in my graduate studies. Upon reflection, I realize how much mineralogy and petrology have changed in the intervening 25 years. Jonathan Stebbins is at the forefront of this change, and it is very appropriate that the Mineralogical Society of America is honoring Jonathan today as the 42nd recipient of the MSA Award.

This content is PDF only. Please click on the PDF icon to access.

First Page Preview

First page PDF preview
You do not currently have access to this article.