Abstract

On July 7, 1917, a party of 16 members of the N. Y. Mineralogical Club assembled at the Museum of the Staten Island Association of Arts and Sciences about 2 P. M. in response to an invitation extended to the Club by Dr, drthur Hollick, director of the Museum, to inspect its collection of local minerals in which the various localities of the Richmond Borough of New York Clty, and especially. the minerals of its serpentine exposures, are attractively repreeented. Amber of distinctively characteristic quality from certain clay deposits on the Islend seemed also of special intereet as an addition to the gem minerals occurring within the limits of New York City, After an inspection of the collections, which are housed et present in a former residential building, the attention of the visitors was directed to a nearby site where work upon a new “city building” for the Museum was then in progress.

This content is PDF only. Please click on the PDF icon to access.

First Page Preview

First page PDF preview
You do not currently have access to this article.