The Navajo country occupies northeastern Arizona and parts of New Mexico and Utah. It is bounded on the east by the 108th meredian, and its other three sides are bounded by the valleys of the large rivers—the San Juan, the Colorado, and the Little Colorado and Puerco, natural boundaries that have long been recognized by the native tribes. Its area is approximately 25,725 square miles, 22,400 square miles of which are held in reserve for the Hopi and Navajo Indians.

This content is PDF only. Please click on the PDF icon to access.

First Page Preview

First page PDF preview
You do not have access to this content, please speak to your institutional administrator if you feel you should have access.