Here we report a nomenclature and classification for the seidozerite-supergroup minerals. The TS (Titanium-Silicate) block is the main structural unit in all seidozerite-supergroup structures; it consists of a central O (O = Octahedral) sheet and two adjacent H (H = Heteropolyhedral) sheets where Si2O7 groups occur in the H sheets. The TS block is characterized by a planar minimal cell based on translation vectors, t1 and t2, the lengths of these vectors are t1 ≈ 5.5 and t2 ≈ 7 Å, and t1 ^ t2 is close to 90°. The forty-five minerals of the sedozerite supergroup are divided into four groups based on the content of Ti and topology and stereochemistry of the TS block: in rinkite, bafertisite, lamprophyllite and murmanite groups, Ti (+ Nb + Zr + Fe3+  + Mg + Mn) = 1, 2, 3 and 4 apfu (atoms per formula unit), respectively. All TS-block structures consist either solely of TS blocks or of two types of block: the TS block and an I (Intermediate) block that comprises atoms between two TS blocks. Usually, the I block consists of alkali and alkaline-earth cations, H2O groups and oxyanions (PO4)3–, (SO4)2– and (CO3)2–.The general formula of the TS block is as follows forumla(Si2O7)2X4+n, where forumla and forumla = cations of the H and O sheets; MH = Ti, Nb, Zr, Y, Mn, Ca + REE, Ca; MO = Ti, Zr, Nb, Fe3+, Fe2+, Mg, Mn, Zn, Ca, Na; AP and BP = cations at the peripheral (P) sites = Na, Ca + REE, Ca, Zn, Ba, Sr, K; X = anions = O, OH, F, H2O; X4+n = forumla + forumla, n = 0, 1, 1.5, 2, 4; XP=forumla and forumla = apical anions of MH and AP cations at the periphery of the TS block .

You do not have access to this content, please speak to your institutional administrator if you feel you should have access.