The Max Hey Medal is awarded for research of excellence carried out by a young worker within the fields of mineralogy, crystallography, petrology or geochemistry. In the year 2000 we had some very strong candidates and found it impossible to separate the cases of Ian Fitzsimons and Ray Kent, so the Medal is awarded to them jointly.

First, but only on alphabetical grounds, Dr Ian Fitzsimons, who is recognized for his on-going research of excellence in metamorphic and mantle petrology.

Ian, you graduated from Cambridge in 1987 with a first class honours degree, and then carried out your PhD at...

You do not currently have access to this article.