R H WORTH PRIZE: Hans Hagdorn, one of Germany’s foremost Triassic palaeontologist-stratigraphers and science popularisers.

WILLIAM SMITH FUND: Marie Edmonds, for her work on the volatiles in magmas and how they affect the dynamics of eruptions, volcanic hazard and climate.

LYELL FUND: Siwan Davies, for invaluable work in precisely correlating, and thus enhancing the value of, palaeoclimate databanks.

MURCHISON FUND: Alison Rust, for highly interdisciplinary work centring on how lavas flow and lose gas during eruptions.

WOLLASTON FUND: James Wookey, for innovative seismic work throwing light on the cor-mantle boundary and anisotropy in the middle...

You do not currently have access to this article.