Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

Restraining bend mountain ranges are fundamental orogenic elements in the Altai, Gobi Altai and eastern Tien Shan. In this paper, 12 separate restraining bends are reviewed to identify common structural and topographic characteristics. The 12 restraining bends occur in one of three different tectonic settings: (1) strike-slip fault termination zones; (2) at a major strike-slip fault bend where the individual strike-slip fault can be traced continuously from one end of the range to the other; and (3) where two separate strike-slip fault segments converge and overlap. Fault maps of the 12 separate bends reveal that they are all flower...

You do not have access to this content, please speak to your institutional administrator if you feel you should have access.

Figures & Tables





Citing Books via

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal