The San Jacinto fault zone consists of three principal faults: the San Jacinto, Coyote Creek, and Clark faults. Right-lateral horizontal displacement along these faults is 14 mi, 3 mi, and 1 mi, respectively. Vertical displacement is relatively minor. The faulting appears to have occurred since the middle Pleistocene. Clark Valley, which is similar to Death Valley, s i interpreted as a pull-apart graben along the curvilinear San Jacinto fault.

First Page Preview

First page PDF preview
You do not currently have access to this article.