Standard usage has established four Permian formations in central New Mexico above a thin unnamed basal Permian limestone. In ascending order these are: the Abo formation — type locality in Abo Canyon, Valencia and Torrance counties, New Mexico; Yeso formation — type locality near Mesa del Yeso, Socorro County; Glorieta sandstone — type locality in Glorieta Mesa, San Miguel County; and San Andres limestone — type locality in Rhodes Canyon, San Andres Mountains, Socorro County. The type sections for these formations have never been adequately designated, and the formations at the type localities have not been sufficiently delimited and described. This paper attempts to designate the type section, define the limits, and describe the characteristic lithology of each formation at its type locality.

First Page Preview

First page PDF preview
You do not currently have access to this article.