Sierra de la Peña is a small range of mountains in the southwestern part of the state of Coahuila, on the Plateau Central of northern Mexico. It is situated at latitude 25° 30′ north, between longitudes 102° 30′ and 103° west (Fig 1). This range is one of several prominent mountain units extending across southern Coahuila along the south side of a broad east-west valley known as the Parras Basin. To the southeast across Puerto La Peña is Sierra de Parras; to the northwest, about 12 miles away, are Sierra de San Lorenzo and Sierra de Texas. A broad alluvial plain north of these ranges, at the west end of the Parras Basin, is named Laguna de Mayrán. A similar but much smaller plain south of Sierra de la Peña is Laguna de Viesca. It is about 13 miles wide and is bounded on the south . . .

This content is PDF only. Please click on the PDF icon to access.

First Page Preview

First page PDF preview
You do not have access to this content, please speak to your institutional administrator if you feel you should have access.