Area defined

That portion of the province of Quebec which has been affected by the Appalachian uplift lies wholly to the south of the Saint Lawrence river. It comprises two somewhat distinct parts, the mountainous region of the Gaspé peninsula along the lower Saint Lawrence and the hilly country from the Chaudiere river to the international boundary line between the province of Quebec and the states of Maine, New Hampshire, and Vermont. The interval between the two portions is marked only by a subsidence in the Appalachian hills southeast of the city of Quebec.

The second of these two areas is commonly designated as the “Eastern townships.” Being less easily accessible, on account of its hilly character as well as its position, and also less desirable otherwise for settlement, this region was not surveyed until some thirty years after the cession of Canada to England. It was then divided into . . .

This content is PDF only. Please click on the PDF icon to access.

First Page Preview

First page PDF preview
You do not currently have access to this article.