T-shaped orogenic triple junctions between mobile belts usually form in two unrelated stages by subsequent and oblique continental collisions separated by a significant time span. Besides these “oblique triple junctions”, another type, named “transverse triple junctions”, may exist. Such junctions are created by a more complex mechanism of partly contemporaneous convergence of three cratons in a restricted time frame, involving strike slip. The Neoproterozoic–Cambrian Kaoko-Damara junction between the Rio de la Plata, Congo, and Kalahari cratons in Namibia is an example of such a transverse orogenic triple junction, formed by at least four subsequent but partly related deformation events. Initial north-south convergence between the Congo and Kalahari cratons was followed by east-west collision of the Rio de la Plata and Congo cratons. Subsequently, the Kalahari and Congo cratons collided, contemporaneous with sinistral strike-slip motion between the Congo and Rio de la Plata cratons and with the intrusion of large granite-syenite plutons, probably associated with slab detachment aided by the strike-slip movement. Other examples of transverse triple junctions may exist in Gondwana. Transcurrent shear zones, some possibly nucleated on transform faults from the pre-collision setting, are essential for the formation of transverse triple junctions.

You do not have access to this content, please speak to your institutional administrator if you feel you should have access.