Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

Southwest Alaska lies between the Yukon-Koyukuk province to the north, and the Alaska Peninsula to the south (Wahrhaftig, this volume). It includes the southwestern Alaska Range, the Kuskokwim Mountains, the Ahklun Mountains, the Bristol Bay Lowland, and the Minchumina and Holitna basins. It is an area of approximately 175,000 km2, and, with the exception of the rugged southwestern Alaska Range and Ahklun Mountains, consists mostly of low rolling hills.

The oldest rocks in the region are metamorphic rocks with Early Proterozoic protolith ages that occur as isolated exposures in the central Kuskokwim Mountains, and in fault contact...

You do not currently have access to this chapter.

Figures & Tables





Citing Books via

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal