Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

East-central Alaska as described in this volume (Fig. 1) is a physiographically diverse region that includes all or parts of the following physiographic divisions (Wahrhaftig, this volume): Northern Foothills (of the Alaska Range), Alaska Range (north of the northernmost strand of the Denali fault system), Tanana- Kuskokwim Lowland, Northway-Tanacross Lowland, and the Yukon-Tanana Upland. The Northern Foothills are largely rolling hills in Pleistocene glacial deposits and dissected Tertiary nonmarine sedimentary rocks. The included part of the Alaska Range is composed of highly dissected terranes of metamorphic rocks that have been intruded by Cretaceous and Tertiary igneous rocks. Mountain peaks...

You do not currently have access to this chapter.

Figures & Tables





Citing Books via

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal