Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

The Columbia River flood basalt province covers an area greater than 210,000 km2 in the Pacific Northwest. The province is subdivided into the Oregon Plateau and the Columbia Basin based on significant differences in the style of deformation. The Oregon Plateau contains four structural-tectonic regions: (1) the northern Basin and Range, (2) the High Lava Plains, (3) the Owyhee Plateau, and (4) the Oregon-Idaho graben. The Columbia Basin covers a broader region and consists mainly of the Yakima Fold Belt and the Palouse Slope. Volcanism began in the Oregon Plateau and quickly spread north to the Columbia Basin. In...

You do not currently have access to this chapter.

Figures & Tables




Citing Books via

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal