Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

The Ingalls ophiolite complex, central Cascades, Washington, mainly consists of mantle-derived ultramafic tectonite, with crustal rocks consisting of gabbro, diabase, basalt, and sedimentary rocks. The crustal rocks occur as faulted blocks within serpentinite mélange (Navaho Divide fault zone). Mafic rocks in most of these blocks comprise the Late Jurassic Esmeralda Peaks unit. Herein, we define an older, Early Jurassic unit within the Ingalls ophiolite complex, which we call the Iron Mountain unit. This unit occurs along the southern edge of the complex and consists dominantly of mafic volcanic rocks with minor sedimentary rocks. A rhyolite within the Iron Mountain unit...

You do not currently have access to this chapter.

Figures & Tables



Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal