Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

The Middle Paleozoic rocks deformed by the Acadian orogeny in the Gaspé Peninsula are divided into three major structural zones, from north to south: (1) the Connecticut Valley-Gaspé synclinorium, (2) the Aroostook-Percé anticlinorium, and (3) the Chaleurs Bay synclinorium. These three structural zones were part of a single depositional belt, the Gaspé Belt, located mainly to the south of the Baie Verte-Brompton Line over the Dunnage Zone.

The Gaspé Belt comprises four broad temporal and lithological packages: (1) Upper Ordovician-lowermost Silurian deep water fine-grained siliciclastic and carbonate fades, (2) Silurian-lowermost Devonian shallow to deep shelf fades, (3) Lower Devonian mixed...

You do not currently have access to this chapter.

Figures & Tables




Citing Books via

Related Book Content
Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal