Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

With the recognition of the Hope Valley shear zone (HVSZ) as a terrane boundary, the Esmond-Dedham terrane (EDT) was subdivided, and the western division was named the Hope Valley terrane (HVT). The oldest rocks of the HVT consist of schist, gneiss and quartzite (Plainfield Formation), and metavolcanic and metaplutonic gneisses and amphibolites (Waterford Group), some of the latter yielding a radiometric age of 620 Ma. Members of the Sterling Plutonic Suite, consisting of granite gneiss and alaskite gneiss, intrude these older units. An exact radiometric age could not be determined for the alkaline pluton, Joshua Rock Granite Gneiss, but is...

You do not have access to this content, please speak to your institutional administrator if you feel you should have access.

Figures & Tables



Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal