Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

Five genetic categories of sedimentary basins have been active within the Indus-Yarlung suture zone and in the neighboring High Himalaya since early Cenozoic time. These include: (1) the Xigaze forearc basin (Aptian–early Eocene), (2) the north Himalayan foreland basin (Paleocene–Eocene), (3) the Kailas extensional basin (Oligocene–Miocene), (4) the Liuqu wedge-top basin (early Miocene), and (5) a set of at least six rift and supradetachment basins that formed by arc-parallel extension (late Miocene–Pleistocene). The older basins (categories 1 and 2) were filled with predominantly deep-marine turbiditic deposits, which shoaled through time to subaerial (but very low) elevations. The other basins...

You do not currently have access to this chapter.

Figures & Tables




Citing Books via

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal