Skip to Main Content
Commonwealth of Independent States
Scope Notes: Group name for independent republics of the former Soviet Union (USSR) including Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgian Republic, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Turkmenia, Ukraine and Uzbekistan. Term excludes Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania. To retrieve all documents, USSR should also be searched. Added to Thesaurus in 1993.
See Also:
Use For Term:
CIS (Commonwealth of Independent States)
View All