Skip to Main Content

Nomenclature and classification of the spinel supergroup

Ferdinando Bosi, Cristian Biagioni and Marco Pasero
Nomenclature and classification of the spinel supergroup
European Journal of Mineralogy (October 2018) 31 (1): 183-192


A new, IMA-approved classification scheme for the spinel-supergroup minerals is here reported. To belong to the spinel supergroup, a mineral must meet two criteria: (i) the ratio of cation to anion sites must be equal to 3:4, typically represented by the general formula AB (sub 2) X (sub 4) where A and B represent cations (including vacancy) and X represents anions; (ii) its structure must comprise a heteropolyhedral framework of four-fold coordination polyhedra (TX (sub 4) ) isolated from each other and sharing corners with the neighboring six-fold coordination polyhedra (MX (sub 6) ), which, in turn, share six of their twelve X-X edges with nearest-neighbor MX (sub 6) . Regardless of space group, the X anions form a cubic close-packing and each X anion is bonded to three M-cations and one T-cation. The fifty-six minerals of the spinel supergroup are divided into three groups on the basis of dominant X anion: O (super 2-) (oxyspinel), S (super 2-) (thiospinel), and Se (super 2-) (selenospinel). Each group is composed of subgroups identified according to the dominant valence and then the dominant constituent (or heterovalent pair of constituents) represented by the letter B in the formula AB (sub 2) X (sub 4) . The oxyspinel group (33 species) can be divided into the spinel subgroup 2-3 (A (super 2+) B (sub 2) (super 3+) O (super 4) ) and the ulvospinel subgroup 4-2 (A (super 4+) B (sub 2) (super 2+) O (super 4) ), the thiospinel group (20 species) into the carrollite subgroup 1-3.5 (A (super 1+) B (sub 2) (super 3.5+) S (super 4) ) and the linnaeite subgroup 2-3 (A (super 2+) B (sub 2) (super 3+) S (super 4) ), finally, the selenospinel group (3 species) into the bornhardtite subgroup 2-3 (A (super 2+) B (super 3+) (sub 2) Se (sub 4) ) and the potential "tyrrellite subgroup" (A (super 1+) B (sub 2) (super 3.5+) S (super 4) , currently composed by only one species). Once the subgroup is established based on the valence of B, then the mineral species is identified by the combination of the dominant A- and B-cations. Moreover, the present nomenclature redefines the ideal formulae of titanomaghemite, cuprorhodsite, malanite, maghemite, filipstadite, tegengrenite, rhodostannite, toyohaite and xingzhongite as well as discredits "iwakiite", "hydrohetaerolite" and "ferrorhodsite".

ISSN: 0935-1221
EISSN: 1617-4011
Serial Title: European Journal of Mineralogy
Serial Volume: 31
Serial Issue: 1
Title: Nomenclature and classification of the spinel supergroup
Affiliation: Sapienza University of Rome, Department of Earth Sciences, Rome, Italy
Pages: 183-192
Published: 20181009
Text Language: English
Publisher: Schweizerbart'sche Verlagsbuchhandlung (Naegele u. Obermiller), Stuttgart, Germany
References: 76
Accession Number: 2018-101612
Categories: Mineralogy of non-silicates
Document Type: Serial
Bibliographic Level: Analytic
Illustration Description: illus. incl. 1 table
Secondary Affiliation: Universita di Pisa, ITA, Italy
Country of Publication: Germany
Secondary Affiliation: GeoRef, Copyright 2019, American Geosciences Institute. Abstract, copyright, Schweizerbart'sche Verlagsbuchhandlung. Reference includes data from GeoScienceWorld, Alexandria, VA, United States
Update Code: 201853
Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal