The three zones are 1) the Hantkenina alabamensis zone of upper Eocene age, developed in both Victoria and South Australia; 2) the Victoriella plecte zone, "Janjukian" or upper Oligocene to Aquitanian in age, and known only in Victoria except for one occurrence in South Australia; 3) the Austrotrillina howchina zone, lower Miocene or Burdigalian in age. These zones, their position in the standard Tertiary sequence, and their usefulness as age indicators are described.

You do not currently have access to this article.