The Sulphur Mountain Formation in the Wapiti area is subdivided into the Phroso, Meosin Mountain (new), and Vega members, which collectively span much of the Lower Triassic. The Smithian conodont faunas are particularly well developed and form the basis of three partly new conodont zones and two new subzones: the lachrymiformis Zone, meeki Zone, and mosheri Zone, with the last subdivided into the phryna and milleri Subzones. An informal lowermost Smithian nepalensis interval is introduced, although it has yet to be found in the area. The Phroso Member is latest Griesbachian, Dienerian, and, in its uppermost part, Smithian, specifically the lachrymiformis and meeki zones: these are shown to be equivalent to the Euflemingites romunduri ammonoid Zone. The Meosin Mountain Member is assigned to the meeki Zone in its lower part and the phryna Subzone of the mosheri Zone in its upper part: at least, the upper part of the mosheri Zone is equivalent to the Anawasatchites tardus ammonoid Zone. The Mackenzie Dolomite Lentil is at least partly older than the Meosin Mountain Member, and age equivalence of subsurface turbidite units in the Montney Formation should not be assumed. The lowermost Vega Member is also assigned to the phryna Subzone, and higher parts of that member span both the milleri Subzone of the Smithian and the entire Spathian. The following new conodont taxa are described: Neogondolella? joanae, Novispathodus latiformis, Scythogondolella lachrymiformis, Sc. phryna, and Sc. rhomboidea; several other new species are kept in open nomenclature.

You do not currently have access to this article.