Stratigraphically equivalent Aphebian strata occurring in both the Churchill and Grenville Provinces have different group and formational names. The stratigraphy was first defined within the Churchill Province, and it is proposed that use of these names be extended to cover equivalent units within the Grenville Province. The nomenclature of the Knob Lake Group will thus replace that of the Gagnon Group. Two other changes in terminology are proposed in accordance with a recent amendment to the Code of Stratigraphic Nomenclature. Shabogamo Gabbro is renamed Shabogamo Intrusive Suite, and the name Ashuanipi Metamorphic Complex is proposed instead of Ashuanipi Complex.

You do not currently have access to this article.