The Hawley medal for 2005 is awarded to Axel D. Renno, Leander Franz, Thomas Witzke and Peter M. Herzig for their paper entitled “The coexistence of melts of hydrous copper chloride, sulfide and silicate compositions in a magnesiohastingsite cumulate, TUBAF seamount, Papua New Guinea” (Can. Mineral., volume 42, page 1–16). The authors describe Cu-Clsalt-hydrate melt equilibria with a complex system of silicate melts in a magnesiohastingsite cumulate-bearing xenolith taken from the TUBAF seamount in the Bismarck Archipelago. The cumulate formed less that 1.5 million years ago; more may even be forming now as this citation is delivered....

First Page Preview

First page PDF preview
You do not currently have access to this article.