Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination


Under date of April 5, 1920, eight prominent geologists, particularly interested in the economic aspects of that science, sent out a suggested constitution and by-laws for the formation of a society for “the advancement of the science of geology in its application to mining and other industries; the diffusion of knowledge concerning such application; the advancement and the protection of the status of the profession; the definition and maintenance of an adequate professional standard; and the formulation and maintenance of a code of professional ethics.” The eight men were James F. Kemp, head of the Department of Geology at Columbia University; Louis C. Graton, professor of mining geology at Harvard University; Alfred H. Brooks, geologist in charge of the Division of Alaskan Mineral Resources, United States Geological Survey; E. W. Shaw and Ralph Arnold, members of the United States Geological Survey; Josiah E. Spurr, editor of the Engineering and Mining Journal; George H. Ashley, State Geologist of Pennsylvania; and Waldemar Lindgren, professor of economic geology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. To a picked list of sixty names, the small group also submitted the question of a name for the new society and a ballot of officers, the sixty thus chosen to become members of the Organizing Committee of the new organization. The constitution and by-laws were ultimately adopted with some changes. Of the three names submitted—Society of Economic Geologists, Society of Geological Engineers, Society of Applied Geology—the first was finally chosen.

You do not currently have access to this chapter.

Figures & Tables





Citing Books via

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal