Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

The Newer Volcanics Province of SE Australia is a very large continental basaltic province, with an area of >23 000 km2, a dense rock equivalent volume of <900 km3 and >400 monogenetic volcanoes; it has been active since c. 8 Ma. Lava fields, shields, scoria cones are common, and there are >40 maars and volcanic complexes. Maars occur dominantly in the south where magmas erupted through Tertiary sedimentary aquifers, whereas in the north, over Palaeozoic crust, there are few. Complex interactions of the magma volatile content, magma ascent rates, conduit characteristics and the availability and depth...

You do not currently have access to this chapter.

Figures & Tables





Citing Books via

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal