Skip to Main Content
Book Chapter

Laredo District, Texas1

P. W. McFarland
P. W. McFarland
San Antonio, Texas
Search for other works by this author on:
January 01, 1929


The Laredo district is in the extreme southern part of Texas and includes five counties: Duval, Jim Hogg, Webb, Starr, and Zapata.

Oil and gas production is obtained from the Fayette, Yegua, and Cook Mountain formations of Eocene age. In general, oil production has been rather disappointing, due to irregular sand conditions, but the presence of commercial quantities of oil at shallow depths in such a large area indicates the possibilities of better production when the proper combination of sand and structural conditions are encountered.

Faulting and sand lensing are the principal factors of the accumulation of oil and gas in this district. Although the major part of the folding and faulting is post-Eocene in age, some movement took place throughout Eocene time. This movement appears to have controlled the position of shore lines at intervals during the Fayette period.

You do not currently have access to this article.

Figures & Tables


AAPG Special Publication

Structure of Typical American Oil Fields, Volume I

Sidney Powers
Sidney Powers
Search for other works by this author on:
American Association of Petroleum Geologists
ISBN electronic:
Publication date:
January 01, 1929




Citing Books via

Close Modal
This Feature Is Available To Subscribers Only

Sign In or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal