Skip to Main Content

Foraminiferal studies and paleoecologic analysis of the southern Patagonia (Chile) sedimentary sequence suggest that a system of stages, based on a time-stratigraphic consideration, can be used for correlation of Magallanes basin sediments. On the basis of Foraminifera and other characteristics, the following stages have been established for the Upper Jurassic-Cretaceous-Tertiary Magallanes sequence: Rinconian (Oxfordian-Kimmeridgian), Esperanzian (Portlandian-Hauterivian), Pratian (Barremian), Tenerifian (Aptian-Albian), Peninsulian (Albian-Cenomanian), Lazian (Cenomanian-Santonian), Riescoian (Santonian-Maestrichtian), Germanian (Paleocene-Danian), Oazian (Paleocene), Manzanian (lower-middle Eocene), Brunswickian (lower-middle Eocene), Clarencian (upper Eocene), Moritzian (upper Eocene), Cameronian (upper Eocene-lower Oligocene), Rosarian (upper Oligocene-lower Miocene), Miradorian (upper Oligocene-lower Miocene), Gaviotian (Miocene), Sebastinian (Miocene), MacPhearsonian (Miocene), Divisaderian (upper Miocene-lower Pliocene) and Mazian (Pleistocene). Lateral facies variations have been recognized in the Miradorian and Gaviotian stages, showing water shallowing from the southeast in Tierra del Fuego to the northwest in the mainland. It is probable that similar conditions exist in the lower Tertiary stages in the northern part of southern Argentina.

You do not currently have access to this chapter.

Figures & Tables





Citing Books via

Close Modal
This Feature Is Available To Subscribers Only

Sign In or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal