The pre-Tertiary rocks north of the Franklin Mountains and south of the coastal plain in ANWR can be subdivided into two major structural units: (1) basement—Neruokpuk Formation, Nanook Limestone, and Katakturuk Dolomite—and (2) Lower Mississippian to Upper Cretaceous sedimentary rocks. Basement rocks underwent intense deformation prior to deposition of Lower Mississippian rocks; locally the contact is structural.

Crustal shortening at the structural level exposed was accommodated primarily by concentric folding. Axial planes of major folds generally strike N70°-90°E and dip 50°-80°S, indicating north vergence, and can be subdivided into two groups: east-northeast trending and east trending. Major folds plunge subhorizontally...

First Page Preview

First page PDF preview
You do not have access to this content, please speak to your institutional administrator if you feel you should have access.