It is proposed to revise the stratigraphic nomenclature of rocks in the Tucumcari-Sabinoso area in Guadelupe, Harding, San Miguel, and Quay counties in northeastern New Mexico. The following terminology for the Triassic, Jurassic, and Cretaceous units are proposed: Cretaceous (3 formations) -- Pajarita shale, Mesa Rica sandstone, Tucumcari shale; Jurassic (3 formations) -- Morrison formation, Bell Ranch formation, Entrada sandstone (latter two are part of the San Rafael group); Triassic (3 formations) -- Redonda formation, Chinle formation, Santa Rosa sandstone (latter two are part of the Dockum group).

You do not currently have access to this article.