Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

The Cambrian–Ordovician succession of northwestern Scotland represents a fragment of a once-continuous southeastern Laurentian margin stretching between western Newfoundland and eastern Greenland. The subdivisions of the Sauk megasequence are recognized within the Scottish succession for the first time. The Sauk I supersequence corresponds to deposition of the Ardvreck Group, which is composed of a succession of arkoses, quartz arenites, and siltstones. The overlying Sauk II and III supersequences are represented by carbonates of the Durness Group. Within the Durness Group, several smaller sequences can be identified (interpreted as third order). The Sauk II supersequence can be divided into two...

You do not have access to this content, please speak to your institutional administrator if you feel you should have access.

Figures & Tables





Citing Books via

Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal